New Year, New Project! 

A few of my favorite things

2015 was a crazy year. It kicked off with my return from studying abroad and ended with college graduation and a move to a brand new state. I’m grateful for this year of learning and change as I reflect back on it. At the same time, I am so ready to start 2016 on a blank page. 2015 brought new opportunities and new challenges. I was welcomed into a new family while having to miss out on milestones and events with my own family back home. This year marked the first one where I spent Christmas away from my family, my first year of not going back to school shopping. I had my first big kid job and learned that where you work isn’t just about the money you make. 2015 was hard and I would say more bitter than sweet not only for me but for many of the people that I love. 

All of that being said, I am so grateful for the change that 2015 has inspired. Through the struggles have come resilience and support. I hope I get to pay that love forward in 2016 as I embark to create the life I dreamed about while still in college. 

My dream behind being an English major was to graduate and work as an editor or writer. Upon leaving school and realizing how challenging of a field this is to break into I told myself that it might not happen, and that would be ok. It’s not though. I would say the biggest lesson I learned in 2015 is that you should choose the work you’ll do for 40 hours a week wisely. An unwise choice can lead to a lot of unhappiness. 

To create the space for this new work that I want to do, I’ll be launching a second blog. It will be dedicated to book reviews, editing practices, and general book nerdiness. 

As my final note, I would like to thank every one of you who takes time out of your day to read this blog. I appreciate you. Here’s to a year of exciting new projects! Stay tuned. 
-Kory 

Leave a comment